Category Archives: Play Development

Eumom Articles on Baby Development and Sleep


Post Image

  Baby Development and Sleep Expert http://www.eumom.ie/baby/eumom-baby-development-expert-fiona-ofarrell/   5 Tips For Coping With Bedtime When The Clocks Change https://www.eumom.ie/baby/5-tips-for-coping-with-bedtime-when-the-clocks-change/   Benefits of a Good Night Sleep for Baby & Mom https://www.eumom.ie/baby/benefits-of-a-good-night-sleep-for-baby-mom/   Do Babies Dream? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/do-babies-dream/   Why is my Baby Waking Up at Night? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/why-is-my-baby-waking-up-at-night/   Should you Talk to your Unborn Baby? https://www.eumom.ie/pregnancy/should-you-talk-to-your-unborn-baby/   Should Your Child Be Sitting In The “W” Pose? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/should-your-child-be-sitting-in-the-w-pose/   No More Guilt: Taking ‘Me Time’ Benefits Your Child https://www.eumom.ie/baby/no-more-guilt-taking-me-time-benefits-your-child/   When the […]

Tags: , ,

Sensory toys for baby and toddler


Q.  My Son is 16 months and with just so many toys available I really don’t know what is best for him developmentally. I would really appreciate some advice on the best sensory toys you would suggest for this age group? A.  Thank you for your question. I frequently get asked advice on best sensory toys during my workshops for parents. As you say there is so much choice and expensive does not necessarily mean the toy is better in […]

Starting School ? – 6 Top tips


Post Image

6 Top Tips from paediatric occupational therapist to prepare your Child for starting school Sleep Approx 2 weeks before starting school you should start and continue a bedtime routine, this will ensure your child is getting sufficient sleep to facilitate learning. Development You should help your child become aware of right/left foot and corresponding shoes. Have your child practice putting on/off shoes. Encourage your child to sit and focus on 5 or 6 adult directed tasks, for example you pick a […]