Category Archives: 0 – 12 months

Merrion Fetal Articles


Baby Development-7 Fundamental Facts  

5 Top Tips – Prepare your baby sleep for winter clock change


One week before the clock changes, move your baby sleep bedtime later by 5-10 minutes each night. This will allow for a gradual change and will help your baby’s internal clock ‘circadian cycle’ readjust to the time change. Day Time Nap is important for preventing over tiredness. Up until the age of 3-4 years a day time nap is advisable. After a short morning of activity the brain needs a rest and is at risk of over tiredness if it […]

Tags: , , ,

Eumom Articles on Baby Development and Sleep


Post Image

  Baby Development and Sleep Expert http://www.eumom.ie/baby/eumom-baby-development-expert-fiona-ofarrell/   5 Tips For Coping With Bedtime When The Clocks Change https://www.eumom.ie/baby/5-tips-for-coping-with-bedtime-when-the-clocks-change/   Benefits of a Good Night Sleep for Baby & Mom https://www.eumom.ie/baby/benefits-of-a-good-night-sleep-for-baby-mom/   Do Babies Dream? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/do-babies-dream/   Why is my Baby Waking Up at Night? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/why-is-my-baby-waking-up-at-night/   Should you Talk to your Unborn Baby? https://www.eumom.ie/pregnancy/should-you-talk-to-your-unborn-baby/   Should Your Child Be Sitting In The “W” Pose? https://www.eumom.ie/baby/should-your-child-be-sitting-in-the-w-pose/   No More Guilt: Taking ‘Me Time’ Benefits Your Child https://www.eumom.ie/baby/no-more-guilt-taking-me-time-benefits-your-child/   When the […]

Tags: , ,

Sensory toys for baby and toddler


Q.  My Son is 16 months and with just so many toys available I really don’t know what is best for him developmentally. I would really appreciate some advice on the best sensory toys you would suggest for this age group? A.  Thank you for your question. I frequently get asked advice on best sensory toys during my workshops for parents. As you say there is so much choice and expensive does not necessarily mean the toy is better in […]

Some Interesting Facts about Baby and Toddler Development and Sleep


Post Image

    A baby/ Toddler’s future social, emotional, perceptual, cognitive and language skills are built upon the skills mastered during the first three years of a baby’s life.   During your baby’s first three years, development occurs in a sequential order. This means each stage of development lays the foundation for the next stage of development and so on.   From the age of four onwards these skills which have been mastered lay the foundation for higher skills such as […]

Tags: , , ,

Nine Top Tips for creating the perfect baby Sleep Zone


Post Image

  Your Child’s environment should ensure his sleep zone facilitates sleep.   To create a calm peaceful ‘Baby Sleep Zone’ include the following:           Darkened room, (though child may prefer dim light) Close curtains during nap time Avoid glare from hall light, window Encourage use of ‘sleep friends’ such as favourite cuddly toy Avoid bright colours on the walls. Muted colours work best Avoid wall murals, posters Don’t hang clothes on door. Can appear threatening (scary) in […]

Tags: , , , ,

An Important Marker for your Baby’s development


We all want our babies to do well, but where does one start. Reading books certainly helps. However if you are like me once baby and definitely by the time number three arrived, the luxury to find the time to sit and read quickly disappeared and I love reading. You will previously have read on my Blog about how important your baby’s mastering of his developmental milestones are for later progression in school. But how do you know your baby […]